Symphony No. 4 in D minor

was composed when Herschel stayed at “Halnaby near Darlington, Yorkshire Novr. 5th 1760”. There are three movements:

Allegro moderato, Adagio ma non molto and Allegro moderato.

It is scored for 2 violins (ripieno), 2 violins (obligato), viola, (violoncello), double bass, (bassoon), continuo. This edition is based upon GB Lbm Add. MS 49624/4 (holograph score) and MS 49628/3 (holograph parts).

Score and parts available Spring 2022