Symphony No. 12 in D major

was composed by Herschel while he was living in “Pontefract in Yorkshire Decemb[er] 1st 1761”. There are three movements:

Allegro assai, Andante non molto and Allegro assai.

It is scored for 2 violins, viola, violoncello, double bass, 2 oboes, 2 horns, (bassoon), continuo. This edition is based upon GB Lbm Add. MS 49625/6 (holograph score) and MS 49630/1 (holograph parts).

Go to download page